After reading both Martha Gonzalez’s “Zapateado Afra-Chicana Fandango style” and Quetzal’s “Imaginaries,” I was amazed by their beginnings especially that of Martha Gonzalez.

As stated in “Zapateado”, when Martha was younger, she was part of child musical act with her siblings taking center stage. I was amazed at how their father basically signed their brother away by allowing him to be “worked like a dog” at the age of 9 to 11. I was even more surprised that this did not stop any of them from pursuing careers as singers. I feel like if it had been me, I would have avoided playing music ever again.

In “Imaginaries,” it discusses how Martha studied at UCLA and UW. She brought both background in both international music from Ghana and Cuba and in feminism to Quetzal. I was impressed by how she incorporated both into Quetzal’s musical identity. I believe that her background is part of the reason that Quetzal’s lyrics are so focused on social activism but the other members of the group contribute just as much I’m sure.

In the end, it seems that influence has made Quetzal’s lyrics very poignant and meaningful to a modern audience. Though I am not sure how many people listen to Quetzal, but after reading the descriptions of some of the tracks I could imagine the effect they had on their fans. 

