After listening to the audio commentary ” La Punk to Banda Rap”, I must say I started to change my mind about punk rock. I have personally never been a fan of punk rock because I always assumed it was heavy and loud. But this excerpt opened my eyes to a different style of punk influenced by personal stories and struggles. Many of the featured artists in the excerpt include styles that pay respect to their cultural roots. I felt like that gave the music a unique twist and a warm sound even when the lyrics themselves were revolutionary in nature. I also appreciated how most of the artists and bands were producing socially conscious music that commented on the struggles of undocumented workers and those considered ” illegals”. Banda Rap too had a unique sound that fused traditional chicano music and instruments with the harder sounds of rap which I really enjoyed.

In Mimi Thi Nguyen’s article, she makes a very important point about the assumptions made by popular punk rock. As Nguyen indicates ” Racist, sexist or homophobic individuals are usually denounced as detractors from ‘real punk’ principles, as if punk were inherently anti-racist, -sexist, or -homophobic.” This is interesting because it goes back to this concept of ” colorblindness”, which seems to propose that there are parts of our society that are “post-racial.” But this concept of colorblindess  is in fact dismissive of the very real struggles faced by members of our society daily. That in itself is racist, and sexist and homophobic in my opinion because it undermines what is actually going on. 

 

